The Creator's Compass
Meditative Practice
Care-note #3
14
0:00
-3:59

Care-note #3

Tender Rest And Compassion For Self
14

The Creator’s Compass is supported by readers/listeners. If you would like to support this publication, subscribe for free. I would be honored to have you join our tribe of compass-holders!

I hope this Care-note finds you well within the swirls, bumps, challenges, and beauties of this life we share. The audio for today is a short spoken-word meditation to help us fall into a tender rest. Below is a little update from the place I call home—my tiny nook I borrow from earth to create, connect, and rest.

Creating these offerings is a strange thing, in that I birth them to send off into a void of cyberspace. After years of teaching in-person, this absence of reading what you may need is odd territory indeed. However, I’m immensely enjoying the new terrain.

This past week I struggled with malaise. This type of unease visits us occasionally, and often wears a crown of sadness. But malaise also offers a gift of sorts. She does so by slowing us down, giving us an opportunity to create and discover things otherwise hidden from non-stop doing this or doing that, running from one task to another in frantic swirls. She is the relief of an exhale from a prolonged inhale.

As I age, I become more skilled at knowing how to dance with malaise—to sit with the fear of her, so I can accept the pause she offers. For me, art is the way I subdue the fear of malaise and transform her into something healthy and life-affirming. This is a dance of active self-compassion. It teaches me how to allow what is, and to discover how to pivot with what is. And if I dance skillfully, there is an unveiling of a blessing. Sometimes I dance well, other times I trip and fall a hundred times. But, because I’ve tasted the unveiling of blessings that occur through difficulties, I have developed confidence to be steadfast in my efforts to always dance.

I invite you to consider what could be expressions of self-compassion able to hold you when you need tenderness, when sadness or fear visits.

*The watercolor above was born this week from my slow waltz with malaise.

If you would like to share:

What form(s) can self-compassion take for you?

Are you comfortable giving to yourself, so you can practice self-compassion?

If you are comfortable, I’d love for you to introduce yourself by hitting the comment button. We are a virtual community, but we can still create meaningful connections.

Thank you for helping hold this compass of compassion. Your presence here matters more than you may know. What a wondrous community we are growing! Each of you holds a unique expression of the compass, allowing you to touch people’s lives in ways no one else can. Let us continue to hold our compasses high and be a light for ourselves and for each other. And please share this publication with anyone who you believe may benefit from our community of compass-holders.

With much love,

Renee

PS: If there is any topic you would like me to dive into, or a guided-word meditation you are craving, you can leave a comment or send me an email by replying to this publication.

Leave a comment

Share

14 Comments
The Creator's Compass
Meditative Practice
Spoken word meditations to help us unveil our true nature of compassion and wisdom.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Renee Faber